Chinese Dragon in Al Irsyad Satya

The school where I work, Al Irsyad Satya, is not a Chinese school, but we teach the students many cultures so they can appreciate each culture equally. Approaching February, I introduced them the culture of Chinese new year.

image from Art Attack

Last year, I arranged this project for my Primary 2 students. They love it, and their junior (Primary 1 by then) asked me to arrange the same project for them. I told them to wait until they are in Primary 2.

Each time they meet me in the art room, each time they saw the previous work of these Chinese dragons, they would ask me about my promise to give them the assignment. Okay, kids… I’ll give the assignment at the beginning of 2011, all right? To make it close to the Chinese New Year event. When your little hands can manage for this such ‘hard work’, we will do it for sure.

Abi, seriously coloring the head of his dragon

This year, it’s their time to working on this project. They are so eager about it. Copying the pattern (I got it from one edition of Art Attack) on to construction paper, coloring it. They love it.

Farhan in action😉

When its time for them to cut it, ooh… they don’t like it, though all of them are struggling to do it by themselves. Neat or not, its their own work.

Time to connect the head and tail with another colorful construction paper. Folding the paper also caused them some trouble. Some students rolled the paper instead of fold it in and out.

Still working on, the unfinished Chinese Dragon

Let’s glue the head to the body, and in the other end, glue the tail to it. Later, we will spray a layer of clear paint, and put a pair of stick to it to complete the Chinese Dragon. My students will love to play with it.🙂

About batikmania

Love culture in general. Love live as it is universal. Love Allah above all.
This entry was posted in How to..., student's works and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chinese Dragon in Al Irsyad Satya

  1. What a great project! Looks like it was a lot of fun. Thanks for sharing the link with me!

    • batikmania says:

      It was fun, indeed. My students will love playing the chinese dragon, at school and at home😉
      And thanks for visiting and write such a nice comment.🙂

  2. I always loved art class, and I’m sure your students do, too. It’s a wonderful thing, to be a teacher. Many of my friends are teachers, too.

    Margarita

  3. Julie Fukuda says:

    I work with kids too and think this is a great project. Next year is the year of the dragon by the oriental zodiac. I will have to make a note to try this one. I love the smiling faces in the completed picture.

  4. batikmania says:

    Thanks again, Julie (or should I call you Fukuda-san?). Correction: this year is the year of the rabbit, Julie😉 I think you will make great quilt project for the upcoming new year. Zodiac quilt, maybe? Or Chinese zodiac characters? Looking forward for the project to be finished and displayed on your blog. I will surely visit it.😉

Leave a Reply

