2011 Reading Challenge

I saw on Goodreads, and I grabbed the challenge directly. This year, how many book I would like to read? I’m targeting to read 15 books only. 1 book each month, plus 3 additional books. Seems like enough challenge, for me.

What I mean about Book is one with a certain quantity, which is over 150 pages thick. Well, that will require enough endurance to finish reading the book. Because it happened several times, that I did not completely finish reading a thick book. Sometimes I got tired following the storyline which is less interesting, or sometimes I lost my spirit to finish it. Finally I close the book without knowing the end story : p But for the 15 books this year, I MUST read every single words from the book till the last page.

What happen to my reading habit? I still have it for sure. I still do. I still read some magazines each month. The usual ones are Intisari, Reader’s Digest, and ChicPrevention Indonesia is good too. Moreover, I have got some prizes from the magazine😉 It makes me to think to re-subscribe, besides the opportunity to get other prizes. (Haha…. it’s me, the prize hunter :p)

My other reading activity is I do visiting some blogs of friends, both in English and Indonesian. Learning from their writing style and get a lot of knowledge from the contents of their blog posting. After much reading, I hope I could increase the quality and quantity of my writing too. Meanwhile, my target to read 15 books also have to start from now. Soon. Hm … it’s getting closer to the end of January, and I have not finished any books! Come on Dee, start reading!

About batikmania

Love culture in general. Love live as it is universal. Love Allah above all.
This entry was posted in About Me and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2011 Reading Challenge

  1. idanalhadjri says:

    What type of books do you like to read?
    If it happens to be fiction novels, i think you should check on my newborn blog :p
    I know it’s still very premature because I’ve just started it, but it can give you ideas (although vaguely) about what to read. I hope i can help a little. Happy reading!🙂

  2. Idan says:

    Hey there!🙂
    i would like to know what kind of books do you usually read?
    If it’s somewhere along the line of fiction novels, then i think you need to check on my newborn blog :p I know it is still premature since i’ve just started writing it, but i hope it can give you, although vaguely, ideas about what to read. thanks🙂

    • batikmania says:

      Visited your blog once, mr.Idan. Nice blog. Good reference. Keep reading, keep writing, keep blogging. I might visit your blog again another time. Insya Allah.🙂

  3. Julie Fukuda says:

    I belong to “Good Reads” too but I would never think of setting a goal as I am the world’s slowest reader. I always carry a book with me and read while on the train or waiting for something or someone. My #2 daughter also belongs and she seems to read several books a day.

    • batikmania says:

      Don’t worry, Julie. Compare to you, I’m a slow reader. And unfortunately, I can’t read on my way to school where I teach because I drive my own car. And usually I got home tired already, can’t spare time to read😦 So my target is quite low, only 1 book each month, plus 3 more additional. Hope I can get there. Just started my first book😉

Leave a Reply

